DUI penalties in Michigan

DUI penalties in Michigan

Michigan’s Impaired Driving Law establishes significant penalties for drivers caught behind the wheel while under the influence of drugs or alcohol. You can receive a DUI with blood alcohol content of over 0.08% or higher than 0.02% if you are younger than 21. 

Before facing a court date, understand the possible penalties for Michigan DUI. 

Penalties for first-time DUI 

If you have no prior offenses and your arrest occurred when you had a BAC below 0.17%, you will receive six points on your driving record and a license suspension of up to 180 days. Other penalties may include up to 360 hours of community service, up to 93 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. 

For BAC higher than 0.17%, penalties for the first offense include: 

  • Mandatory drug and alcohol treatment program 
  • Six driving record points 
  • Up to one year license suspension with the option of a restricted license after 45 days if you install an approved ignition interlock device at your own expense 
  • Up to 360 hours community service 
  • Up to 180 days in jail 
  • A fine of up to $700 

You must pay $2,000 in additional fines over two years under the Driver Responsibility Act. You may also need to forfeit your car for up to 180 days at the judge’s discretion. 

Subsequent DUI penalties 

Drivers convicted of a second DUI within seven years of the first must serve five days to one year in jail, $200 to $1,000 in fines, mandatory vehicle forfeiture for 90 to 180 days and 30 to 90 days of community service. For a third offense in the same seven-year period, you could receive one to five years in jail, fines of $500 to $5,000, mandatory vehicle forfeiture for one to three years and 60 to 180 days community service. 

Refusal of a breath test carries a one-year license suspension in addition to other penalties. A second refusal in the same seven-year period carries an automatic two-year license suspension. 

Recent Posts

Disclaimer | Privacy Policy