What happens if you get a DUI in Michigan?

| Dec 9, 2020 | Criminal Defense

Like in all other states, it is illegal to drive while impaired in Michigan. Drivers are not legally able to operate a vehicle when they have a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .08% or greater. If the person is under the age of 21, then they cannot drive legally if they have a BAC of .02% or higher.

Michigan also has aggravated DUI laws , which means that those with a BAC of .17% or higher will face harsher penalties compared to other DUIs of lower levels.

Keep in mind that anyone can be accused of drinking and driving or driving while impaired regardless of their BAC, though. The .08% limit is just the per-se limit, which is when the officer needs no further evidence of intoxication beyond the Breathalyzer test results.

What are the consequences of a DUI below .17%?

If you are convicted of a DUI below .17%, the consequences may include:

  • As much as $500 in fines
  • Six points on your license
  • Up to 360 hours of community service
  • As many as 93 days in jail
  • License suspension for as long as 180 days

What happens if you are convicted of a DUI over .17%?

If you are arrested for DUI with a BAC over .17%, then you could face penalties such as:

  • As much as $700 in fines
  • Six points on your license
  • Mandatory use of an ignition interlock device to get a restricted driver’s license
  • A maximum of 360 hours of community service
  • Compulsory alcohol treatment program completion
  • A license suspension for up to a year

As you can see, the penalties are significant. If you face a DUI, it’s a good idea to look into a defense to help you protect your freedoms.